Too Many Films… and Not Enough Time

You wait for a couple of decent films to show, and then half-a-dozen comes along all at once, right when life emerges from the winter slumber and wakes the beast called work. It doesn’t help that movie release schedule runs differently in Korea to the rest of the world: blockbusters earlier and award-winners later than everyone else. So right now there’s The Descendants, The Artist, War Horse, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy as well as the lupine-themed duo of The Grey and Korean thriller Howling all in the cinemas right now, with The Iron Lady, My Week with Marilyn and Hugo to come in the next week. If I’m not careful – say, getting in a picture every two days – I’ll miss some of these and then whine about it at the end of the year. I’ve already neglected Drive (which admittedly saw extremely limited release here) and I’m feeling plenty apologetic to Ryan Gosling, so better get my groove back on and start getting my tickets stubbed.

2 thoughts on “Too Many Films… and Not Enough Time

  1. That’s quite a list you got there! If you have to skip some, I’d nominate The Descendants (nice, but mediocre and forgettable – not nearly as good as everyone is making it out to be). Definitely make sure you see TTSS! The Iron Lady really surprised me as well.

    • Thanks for the comment 🙂 I managed to catch Tinker Tailor… just before it went of the cinema circuit, and thought it was excellent, Gary Oldman being fantastic as usual. Your advice regarding The Descendants makes me torn, because I’ve always made time for Payne. As it is, I’ve now watched The Artist and The Iron Lady as well, so whittling the list down quite well.

Leave a Reply

